pumpkinbread2 lost recipe cards written in my grandmother’s hand

1 pink index card in my own handwriting

1 phone call to my mom to ask how she makes it

3 cups of whole wheat flour make it hearty

The worn and skilled hands of my great grandma, Bessie

The flat, metal Tablespoon my Grandma O used,

and her old-school flour sifter, I don’t care how much time it adds

2 large baking pans/ 4 medium tins

Butter, not Crisco, for greasing them

1/2 C. buckwheat/ 1 C. sorghum, just to change it up

Ground cloves, be careful not too much

Tediously combine dry ingredients.  Work the lumps out of the wet. Extra pumpkin mash keeps it moist.  Envision Grandma O in her airy kitchen with the window framing the frosted mountains; Bessie Badger in her apron, hair in a bun, floured countertops, linoleum covered floors, (not much left of her but posterity and lore); my Mom, quiet and nimble in her sunny kitchen, aproned and floured, walking cool tiles, lush citrus trees outside.  Sigh.  Wish I weren’t far away and alone.  Remove from the oven when bread smells done.

